(Reading time: 1 minute)

Argentine football striker Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona received a double match for exclusion in the final of the Spanish Super Cup with Athlete Bilbao. The sentence was confirmed by the Spanish Football Federation on Tuesday.

      In Sunday's final of the tournament in Seville, the Catalans lost to the Basques 2: 3 after extra time. At the end of the extra time, Messi kept his nerves in check and received a red card for a blow with an open palm to the back of Asier Villalibra's head, which was defending him with his body. It was his first elimination in a Barcelona jersey in the 753rd match for the Catalan team. According to Marc's diary, he was threatened with a four-match distance.

Thirty-three-year-old Barcelona captain  will miss Thursday's Spanish Cup duel and weekend league match with Elche. The DPA informed.

Photo: Gettyimages

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
SportJudges
SportJudges
SportJudges.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

About us

Get all the latest football news, statistics, results, palyer ratings for all the major  europe leagues. Read in football articles with comments and opinions from our experienced bloggers. Read More

Follow us

SIGN UP AND JOIN US

JUDGE THEM ALL!