(Reading time: 2 - 3 minutes)

Liverpool held by Newcastle

Saturday’s early Premier League kick-off played out a short time ago.

Said tie saw Liverpool play host to Newcastle United, with the former looking to move into the Champions League places with a win on Saturday.

And things did start off quite well for Liverpool when Mohamed Salah netted his 20th league goal of the campaign to put the Merseysiders 1-0 up early on.

1️⃣ Touch
2️⃣ Swivel
3️⃣ Finish

Absolutely outstanding from Mo Salah 🔥

There’s no stopping that! pic.twitter.com/V0VNRk6wkK

— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) April 24, 2021

Liverpool created countless chances throughout the first 45 and should have added at least one more goal.

However, Jurgen Klopp’s side were wasteful and were eventually punished for this when, in second-half injury-time, Joe Willock once again came off the bench to secure a huge point for the Magpies.


Off the bench to grab a massive goal, and a massive point in the fight against relegation for Newcastle 😱 pic.twitter.com/J6nGsq9D9i

— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) April 24, 2021

Why Wilson’s goal will be disallowed next season

Right before that Willock goal, though, Newcastle thought they had already equalised via Callum Wilson.

However, after Wilson’s initial shot deflected back off Alisson and into Wilson’s arm – which was right down by his side – VAR ruled the goal out for handball.

Following the game, there was talk that said goal would actually be given next season when the new handball comes in.

However, as has since been explained, Wilson’s goal would still be ruled out.

The reason for this being that, if the ball hits the arm of the goal scorer, even accidentally, it will still be disallowed.

The change only removes the offence for the ball hitting the arm of another player. So if the ball had deflected off Wilson’s arm to a teammate, then it would stand next campaign, but not if it is the goal scorer whose arm is hit by the ball:

The change in the handball law this summer will NOT change a decision like Callum Wilson’s.

If the ball hits the arm of the goal scorer, even accidentally, it will STILL be disallowed.

The change removes the offence for the ball hitting the arm of another player. #LIVNEW https://t.co/yVYwdrHfbZ

— Dale Johnson (@DaleJohnsonESPN) April 24, 2021

SportJudges.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

About us

Get all the latest football news, statistics, results, palyer ratings for all the major  europe leagues. Read in football articles with comments and opinions from our experienced bloggers. Read More

Follow us