(Reading time: 2 - 3 minutes)


A major development in Italian football has been forthcoming this evening, after all of Juventus, Inter Milan and AC Milan made clear their desire to remain a part of Serie A.

ESL in the works

The aforementioned trio of heavyweights have of course joined nine others from across the continent at the heart of widespread criticism over the last 24 hours.

This comes on the back of the announcement regarding plans for the introduction of a ‘European Super League’.

The competition would heavily alter the very landscape of football as we know it, with a dozen of Europe’s finest ready to break away, to partake in a Champions League alternative.

As things stand, the sides committed to the proposal are:

Juve, Inter, AC Milan, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham.

European Super League confirmed as 12 clubs announce new breakaway competition https://t.co/SSPDUbX7oK

— Indy Football (@IndyFootball) April 19, 2021


Serie A clubs push for stay

Swiftly following on the back of such plans being made public, however, has of course been an intense backlash on the part of fans, pundits and footballing institutions alike.

UEFA have threatened a whole host of sanctions, including the expulsion of all of Chelsea, Man City and Real Madrid from this season’s Champions League, and a ban on all Super League-based players from the European Championships and World Cup.

UEFA’s Alexander Ceferin confirms: “The players that will play in the Super League will be banned from playing in the World Cup and Euros. Ceferin. They will not be allowed play for their national teams”. 🚫🇪🇺 #SuperLeague

— Fabrizio Romano (@FabrizioRomano) April 19, 2021


Perhaps the most noteworthy of all, though, has been the assurance that all 12 founding members of the competition will be banned from participating in their respective domestic leagues.

Such a move would of course shatter all of the Premier League, La Liga and Serie A as we know them, opening the door for smaller sides to step up, but also ending the interest of many a ‘casual fan’.

As outlined above, though, on Monday, the three leaders of the Italy-based Super League push have hit back against such a development.

As confirmed by a host of reliable sources, despite having initially been expected to sit out, Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan attended a meeting between the 20 Serie A clubs this evening.

And the key takeaway was all three making crystal clear their full intent to remain a participating member of the Italian top-flight:

Si è conclusa l’assemblea di Lega. Juve, Milan e Inter: “Vogliamo continuare in #SerieAhttps://t.co/CkLDstZ6yo pic.twitter.com/Z196kGoRhw

— Gianluca Di Marzio (@DiMarzio) April 19, 2021


Serie A clubs meeting is now over. Juventus, AC Milan and Inter have announced their intention to stay in the domestic league and play in Serie A also if they’re now part of the #SuperLeague. 🔴🇮🇹 @SkySport

…UEFA will fight to ban SuperLeague clubs also from domestic leagues.

— Fabrizio Romano (@FabrizioRomano) April 19, 2021






SportJudges.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

About us

Get all the latest football news, statistics, results, palyer ratings for all the major  europe leagues. Read in football articles with comments and opinions from our experienced bloggers. Read More

Follow us